Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Service of Dedication

14 September 2018

On Saturday, we will have our first-ever service of dedication to celebrate the lives of some Walsall FC greats.

Following dialogue with the Supporters’ Trust, the club have produced bricks for 18 former players, directors and club officials to be placed into the Memorial Wall outside the Main Entrance.

The families of the recipients have been invited to a small dedication service, where Club Chaplain and former Saddlers player Peter Hart will say some words.

Around 50 family members will be in attendance and we would like to thank Steve Davies, Secretary of the Supporters’ Trust and Former Players' Association, for contacting and inviting them along.

Families being represented today: Jack Bridgett, Albert McPherson, Matt Gadsby, Bert Williams, Dave Robinson, Ian Handysides, George Meek, Granville Palin, David Preece, Geoff Morris, Ken Hodgkinson, Brian Taylor, Willie Penman, Clive Welch (Director), Horace Brisbourne (Club Official).

We have received apologies from the families of Roger Hynd and Tom Hargreaves.

Both the club and Supporters’ Trust have contributed to the costs of the bricks.

And from now on, any former player who passes away having made 100 appearances for the club will automatically have a brick placed into the Memorial Wall.

Advertisement block