Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Checkatrade Trophy: Saddlers drawn in Group E

7 July 2017

Walsall FC will play Coventry City and Shrewsbury Town in the Checkatrade Trophy in 2017/18 after being drawn in Group E of the competition.

 The groups, which are split into Northern and Southern sections, each currently contain three EFL Clubs with a fourth to be added on Wednesday, July 12 when the 16 invited Under-21 teams are drawn. 

EFL clubs have been placed into their respective groups in order to minimise overall travel for EFL clubs and fans following feedback from clubs. This process will be reviewed at the end of the season. 

The group stage fixtures will also be confirmed next Wednesday, with invited under-21 teams to play all group games away from home. 

The eight Northern under-21 sides that could be added to Group E with the Saddlers, Coventry City and Shrewsbury Town are Everton, Leicester City, Manchester City, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Stoke City, Sunderland and West Bromwich Albion.

Advertisement block