Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


13 April 2016

Playmaker up against Bradley Dack and Nicky Ajose…

Walsall playmaker Romaine Sawyers has been shortlisted for the League One Player of the Year Award.

The talented 24-year-old has impressed for the Saddlers this term, scoring five league goals and providing numerous assists.

The St Kitts and Nevis international is competing against Gillingham midfielder Bradley Dack and Swindon striker Nicky Ajose for the prestigious prize.

The winner is to be announced at The Football League awards in Manchester on Sunday, 17th April.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each Sky Bet League 1 manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top 3 forming the shortlist.

Previous winners include: Joe Garner (2015), Matt Ritchie (2013), Jordan Rhodes (2012), Jermaine Beckford (2010 & 2008) and Matt Fryatt (2009). The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

Speaking on the award, Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: "There’s no shortage of talent in Sky Bet League 1 and this shortlist includes three players who have performed fantastically throughout the campaign. We wish them the very best of luck for Sunday evening’s Awards ceremony.”

Other categories include the Young Player of the Year Award, the Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league, on Sunday evening, with the Awards ceremony also broadcast live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:45pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Previous League One Player of the Year winners are:
2015: Joe Garner (Preston North End)
2014: Adam Forshaw (Brentford)
2013: Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town/AFC Bournemouth)
2012: Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield Town)
2011: Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough United)
2010: Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2009: Matt Fryatt (Leicester City)
2008: Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2007: Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe United)
2006: Lee Trundle (Swansea City)

Advertisement block